Maastricht

Phew!….just finished the 27th and final quilt for my solo show which is part of the      (EOQC) European Open Quilt Championships, held in Maastricht on 20-23 October 2016… it is their 20th anniversary.. and I am one of the invited guest collections to be shown there…

I have several mini series of pieces and am excited by the final set … totally different for me, I am trying to work with the landscape …. I have tried before but ended up with ‘pretty’ pictures which is not what I wanted to achieve…. this time I have made three large quilts titled ‘A Walk Through Owslebury’, this is the village that I have lived in for five years now and love it here….  I think I am pleased with them , but  won’t really know until I see them hanging n the exhibition… I will have had a week not looking at them and will see them with fresh eyes when I view the exhibition ….

This event is excellent and from my point of view, I am driving to Maastricht because I decided I couldnt drag 4 huge suitcases through Schipol onto a train and then find the conference centre … so, I have a parking space there and the hotel is on the same campus as the exhbition… should be totally stress free ….

And , Ada Honders, who is the organiser, has a team of people who hang the quilts too …. so, I just have a few sleeves to stitch and then I am finished ….

to find out more about the event please visit www.oeqc.eu

If anyone reading this is coming to the show, do please come by and say hello, I will be at the exhibition for all four days

Leave a Reply

